Photo Scout Accounts
How Photo Scout manages your account and syncs data between your devices and our servers.
When you create scenes in Photo Scout, they're uploaded to the Photo Scout service so notifications can be given when new opportunities are found.
Accounts on the Photo Scout service are (largely) transparent and are created without email addresses, passwords, or any other personal information.
Your account is created automatically when you first use Photo Scout, and its details are stored in iCloud so your account and scenes can be synced across all of your devices.
Local Device Accounts
If iCloud is unavailable for any reason when you first use the app, Photo Scout will instead create a "local device" account so you can get started. A local device account can still upload scenes to the Photo Scout service and receive notifications, but the account will be limited to just the one device — scenes won't be synced to other devices, and if something happens to the device (it gets lost, broken, wiped, etc) the account will be lost.
If you have a local device account, you can upgrade it to an iCloud account in Photo Scout's settings. This will allow your scenes to be synced with other devices, and provides safety for your scenes if something happens to your device.